WMX: 2015 Woman’s Motocross Championship Schedule Announced

Date :

January 06, 2015

WMX: 2015 Woman’s Motocross Championship Schedule Announced

WMX Championship Press Release:

The 2015 WMX Championship once again kicks off alongside Daytona’s “Bike Week” festivities in March with the 6th Annual Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross on the historic grounds of Daytona International Speedway.

Following the season opener in Daytona, the WMX will headline two premier amateur motocross events with the Freestone Spring Championship on Saturday, March 21, and the California Classic at Glen Helen Raceway on Sunday, April 12.

“The WMX competition gave a real boost to these three amateur events in 2014 and we look forward to hosting the premier women athletes once again next season,” said MX Sports Director Tim Cotter.

The remaining five rounds of the WMX Championship will take place in conjunction with select rounds of the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The WMX will race a two-moto format on the premier national motocross tracks either one day before, or one day after the National.

Round four of the WMX Championship will take place on Friday, May 15, alongside the opening round of the Pro Motocross schedule with the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, California. Additionally, the WMX will be showcased on the Sunday after the Tennessee National at Muddy Creek Raceway, and the Friday before the High Point National in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania.

The penultimate round of the WMX Championship will take place during one of the biggest and most festive Pro National weekends of the year with the RedBud National. The WMX will take to the RedBud National motocross track on Sunday, July 5 to cap off the July 4th Weekend in Buchanan, Michigan.

Finally, a WMX Champion will be crowned on Friday in Crawfordsville, Indiana alongside the Pro Motocross Championship finale at the Ironman National.

“The 2015 WMX schedule gives the premier women’s motocross athletes a great opportunity to be a part of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship’s local media campaign alongside the men’s teams,” said Jeff Canfield, Director of Racing for MX Sports Pro Racing. “Pro National weekends are more than just Saturday’s racing and we’re excited to host the WMX at five rounds.”

Riders must meet the WMX Eligibility and Criteria in order to hold a license in 2015 and all licensing must be completed prior to participating at the event.


Round #1: 1 Mar 8-9 RCSX Daytona Daytona Beach, FL
Round #2: Mar 21 Freestone Spring Championship Wortham, TX
Round #3 Apr 12 California Classic San Bernardino, CA
Round #4 May 15 Hangtown Motocross Classic Sacramento, CA
Round #5: Jun 7 Tennessee National Blountville, TN
Round #6: Jun 12 High Point National Mt. Morris, PA
Round #7: July 5 RedBud National Buchanan, MI
Round #8: FRI Aug 21 Ironman National Crawfordsville, IN

2014 Top 10:

1. Marissa Markelon     Ansonia, CT
2. Kylie Fasnacht     Port St. Lucie, FL
3. Mackenzie Tricker     Australia
4. Shelby Rolen     Blaine, TN
5. Amber Felicio     Orangevale, CA
6. Amanda Brown     Pasadena, MD
7. Amanda Sokalski     Chesterfield, MI
8. Glad Limbaugh     Lake George, CO
9. Christel Allen     Hesperia, CA

The WMX Championship will kick off March 8 and 9 with the Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross at Daytona International Speedway.