AMASX: Round #7 KTM Race Report – Arlington

Date :

February 16, 2015

AMASX: Round #7 KTM Race Report – Arlington

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Ryan Dungey collected his second win of the season at the seventh round of the Monster Energy Supercross Series leading from start to finish. His win came after an already exciting night for the Red Bull KTM Factory Team after his teammate, Marvin Musquin, took the victory in the 250 SX class.

Dungey had a successful outing from beginning to end at this round. He was running 4th early in his heat race before it was red-flagged. On the restart, he pulled the hole-shot and went on to win the heat. That win gave him a great advantage for selecting gate pick in the main event.

He nailed the start once more when the gate dropped for the main event putting his KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition motorcycle to the front of the pack. Once out front, he checked out and never looked back on his way to taking the win. Dungey crossed the checkered flag to take the victory by four seconds ahead of the second place rider.

Dungey’s win in Dallas increases his lead to 12 points in the championship standings heading to the next round. He will again represent the lead in the points with the red-plate as the riders head to Atlanta next weekend.

“I’m really excited to get another win,” stated Dungey. “It feels great to see the hard work pay off and I’m excited to increase the point lead on the championship. I’d also like to congratulate my teammate on his win. It’s always a good night when the team can sweep both races. I think it speaks a lot for our team and the bikes that we ride.”

Overall Results:

1.    Ryan Dungey – KTM

2.    Ken Roczen

3.    Trey Canard

4.    Blake Baggett

5.    Andrew Short – KTM

6.    Jason Anderson

7.    Eli Tomac

8.    Josh Grant

9.    Brock Tickle

10.    Cole Seely

11.    Chad Reed

12.    Josh Hill

13.    Phil Nicoletti

14.    Jake Weimer

15.    Nick Wey

16.    Jimmy Albertson

17.    Kyle Partridge

18.    Mike Alessi

19.    Tony Archer

20.    Davi Millsaps

21.    Nick Schmidt

22.    Weston Peick

Overall Point Standings:

1.    Ryan Dungey – 152

2.    Ken Roczen – 140

3.    Trey Canard – 129

Marvin Musquin Wins Opening East 250 Supercross:

Red Bull KTM Factory rider Marvin Musquin collected the win at the opening round of the East 250 SX class championship at the seventh round of the Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship, Series held at the AT&T Stadium.

The factory rider, who spent the off-season restructuring his training program, showed up at the first round ready to battle. He turned the quickest time in the afternoon qualifiers to earn top gate pick heading into the main event.

Musquin was placed in the second heat race. He got a great start and went on to win with a comfortable gap on the rest of the field. His win in the heat gave him the first gate choice for the main event.

Musquin pulled a huge holeshot in the main event and quickly pulled away from the rest of the field. He had managed to gap the field by an impressive 5 seconds before the race was red-flagged on lap six due to an injured rider. Musquin pulled off the track and returned to the start for the official AMA ruling.

The AMA decided to do a staggered start since more than 3 laps had been completed. Musquin led the way off the staggered start and quickly got out to his top spot once again. This time he again pulled on the field and went on to collect his first win of the season. His win at the opening round will give him the red-plate heading to the next event.

“It feels so great to get a win tonight,” stated Musquin. “Myself and the team have been working so hard in the off-season to get where we need to be to run up front. I have had a lot of injury in the past few seasons, particularly in the Supercross season, and I am happy to finally be completely healthy at the start of the season. Normally, I have improved as the Supercross season continued, but this year, I started strong. Both Ryan (Dungey) and I led every lap of our races and I’m proud to be a part of such a strong team. I am so happy tonight and very thankful to my team for their support and great bike.”

Overall Results:

1.    Marvin Musquin – KTM

2.    Justin Bogle

3.    Joey Savagty

4.    Jeremy Martin

5.    Matthew Lemoine

6.    Vince Friese

7.    RJ Hampshire

8.    Arnaud Tonus

9.    Martin Davalos

10.    Kyle Peters

11.    Colt Nichols

12.    Luke Renzland

13.    Anthony Rodriguez

14.    Justin Starling

15.    James Decotis

16.    Zack Williams

17.    Daniel Herrlein

18.    Gannon Audette

19.    AJ Cantanzaro

20.    Dakota Alix – KTM

21.    Mitchell Oldenburg

22.    Kyle Cunningham

Overall Point Standings:

1.    Marvin Musquin – 25

2.    Justin Bogle – 22


3.    Joey Savatgy – 20